The Yueling Village
Yueling Village is a village of over 700 years history, where live around 400 households whose 28 generations all developed from one family, Family Tang, and all maintain this surname still. Six compounds in the village are kept very well. They were all built at the end of Ming dynasty and the beginning of Qing dynasty in a unique local style. Every compound is composed of six buildings, including major and minor sitting rooms, two dooryards, bedrooms, kitchens, guest rooms, storehouses, an opera stage, wells and gardens. At the entrance of the village stands a paifang (Chinese torii) which was built in 1839 to honor Mr. Tang Jing-tao's, the number one scholar of the village, foster mother's chastity. The paifang, 10.2 meters high, is made of marble with exquisite and vivid reliefs, some of which are out of an entire stone, of unicorns, dragons and legendary figures.