As a famous Buddhist holy site, the Purple Bamboo Forest Nunnery is located in Longzhu Village, Jinbao Country, Yangshuo, where the purple bamboos make a pleasant shade around the village, hence its name.
The Purple Bamboo Forest Nunnery was built in the Qing Dynasty and rebuilt five times in history. A horizontal inscribed board of "Tidal Sound Cave" was conferred on the nunnery in the 38th year (1699) of Emperor Kangxi's reign in the Qing Dynasty. Emperor Yongzheng ordered Guang Ji to rebuild it in the 9th year (1731) of his reign, and Monk Renliang and his disciples rebuilt it in the 2nd year (1822) of Emperor Daoguang's reign. The nunnery was enlarged during the reign of Emperor Guangxu. Kang Youwei wrote the tablet of "Purple Bamboo Forest Nunnery" for it in the 8th year (1919) of the Republic of China (1911-1949).
The main architectural buildings in the Purple Bamboo Forest Nunnery include the Hall of Heavenly Kings, the Hall of the Grand Buddha, the Hall of Great Compassion and Kwan-yin Hall. The purple bamboo stones in the nunnery are very unique with clear patterns, and are one of the favorites of art collectors.
The Purple Bamboo Forest Nunnery attracts thousands of visitors from Hong Kong to burn incense and pray for peace each year at Kwan-yin Hall.