Top 10 China tours 2023/2024 for first visits and returns: embark on a lifetime experience. Learn more
The Middle Reaches of the Yangtze River

The Middle Reaches of the Yangtze River

Written by Kelly PangUpdated Feb. 9, 2021

The Middle Reaches of the Yangtze begin on the East Sichuan Plateau and flow steadily down through a system of canyon-like gorges to the plains of Hubei. The middle reaches are about 2,000 km (1,200 miles) long and the river takes in some spectacular scenery, notably the Three Gorges.

First Major City on the Yangtze

The first major city on the Yangtze is Yibin. It marks the confluence of the Min River and the Jinsha River (one of the names of the Yangtze in its upper reaches).

The Min River comes from the mountains west of Chengdu, where Giant Pandas live and are bred in captivity, and flows through Leshan, home of the Giant Buddha.

The Yangtze is first called Changjiang (长江 /chung-jyang/ Long River), its official Chinese name, at Yibin. Yibin is where the Yangtze becomes a huge (one kilometer / half a mile and more wide) meandering navigable watercourse, an artery for transport and focal feature for many of China’s interior cities, the largest of which is Chongqing.

Chongqing Municipality

Chongqing is China’s largest municipality, China’s largest inland port and a prosperous industrial center. Its population is 31 million, but this includes large rural areas. It is the usual starting point for a downriver Yangtze Cruise.

Chongqing Municipality includes the continuance of the East Sichuan Plateau, then the first half of the famously beautiful Three Gorges section of the Yangtze, as the river pierces through the mountainous divide to the plains of Hubei Province.

Other attractions on the Yangtze River in Chongqing Municipality are Fengdu Ghost City, “the home of the devil”, a town of tombs and temples which gives an insight into Chinese ideas of hell; and the Lesser Three Gorges, with even more picturesque and spectacular gorges on a tributary of the Yangtze.

Hubei Province

The most famous attraction in Hubei province is the Three Gorges Dam, 38 km (24 miles) upstream of Yichang City in Xiling Gorge. It is the world’s largest dam, the world’s largest hydroelectric power station, and the world’s tallest lock gate system for ships. The water level behind the dam has been raised by up to 185m behind the dam, deepening and widening the Yangtze for up to 550 km up river.

Hubei Province also includes the latter half of the scenic Three Gorges section of the Yangtze and two large inland ports at Jingzhou and Wuhan, which, along with Yichang, are optional ports on a Yangtze Cruise. Other attractions include Shennong Stream, with its steep canyon, crystal waters and karst landscape, and Gezhou Dam, a shorter, wider and earlier dam than the Three Gorges Dam, located downriver at Yichang City.

By the time the Yangtze reaches Wuhan it is not far above sea level and can be said to be entering a different stage – its lower reaches – a fertile lowland of lakes and waterways, fish and rice.

The Map of the Middle Reaches

The map of the middle reaches of the Yangtze River

Recommended Yangtze River Tours

Popular tours
Make the most of your time
Choose the best time to visit
We are here to help you...
start planning your tailor-made tour with 1-1 help from our travel advisors. Create Your Trip

Sign up to Our Newsletter

Be the first to receive exciting updates, exclusive promotions, and valuable travel tips from our team of experts.

The China Highlights Experience

1-to-1 Expert Planning

1-to-1 Expert Planning

Your tour will be tailor-made by your personal travel advisor — a destination expert. Every reply will be within 24 hours.

Personal Journeys

Personal Journeys

Enjoy your personal local guide and ride. Explore destinations at your own pace. Have unparalleled flexibility, which is impossible on a group tour.

Authentic Experiences

Authentic Experiences

Discover the hidden gems. Experience local culture by practicing it. Try new and exciting activities, and unveil the stories behind the sights and people.

Well-Selected Local Guides

Well-Selected Local Guides

Knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and attentive — your personal local guides will share interesting stories, insider information, and even create unexpected highlights!

China Highlights tailor-makes China tours to help travelers discover China their way. We're a passionate team of one hundred avid travelers who love to share our knowledge of China with those looking for a more authentic travel experience, more ...
China Highlights International Travel Service Co., LTD
Corporate Number: 914503003486045699
Featured on